Home

Hey all.

I’m Matthew, another one of Ken’s mindless slaves — kidding, kidding — but, in any case, this’ll be my first post on Musically Appetizin’. I’ve worked with Ken before on Homewritten History, and expect this site to be just as much, if not even more fun.

So, a little about me from a musical standpoint. I’m mostly into alternative, bands like Linkin Park, My Chemical Romance, and Imagine Dragons, but I wander down into almost every genre now and then (yes, I even purchased a rap song once). However, I find that I do like songs that make you think. Songs known for their lyrics as well as their beat, or maybe not even their beat at all. So while the rest of the world is over “buyin’ some sh*t from the thrift shop” and “waka waka eh eh”-ing, I’m going to talk to you about just that. My ten favorite songs to make you think.

10. Welcome to the Black Parade, My Chemical Romance

MCR is a really cool band, alternative on the brink of metal,they’re commonly associated with goth.Watch them in a music video or in concert, and you’ll know why. In any case, Welcome to the Black Parade has been the band’s biggest hit, and truly is a great song. The beginning lines are the part I love most about this song, and what earns it number ten on this list.

9. We Are Young, Fun.

What had to be one of the most popular songs of late 2012, I find people lose the true meaning behind this song when they listen to it. All I can really say when I think of this song is ‘inspirational’. Let’s face it, we all have our dreams. But as we grow up, those dreams because realities of what we can ‘actually’ accomplish in our lives. Fun. encourages never to let go of our first dreams with We Are Young. I believe this song applies even more so to adults then it does to teens and children. Never lose your dreams, folks.

8. The General, Dispatch

I’ll be 100% honest here, I didn’t like Dispatch at all the first time I heard it. I had been introduced to the band by my brother, who had heard about it from a friend. Dispatch is one of those who you’ll hate with a passion upon the first time hearing it, but you’ll find yourself singing their songs in a matter of two hours and having purchased one, if not more, two hours later. The General is a song about the Civil War according to the band, but I like to think of it as a song about the Vietnam War, one of the most controversial times in our country’s history. In any case, Dispatch puts a great piece of history to music with The General.

7. All Eyes, Imagine Dragons

Imagine Dragons has recently come into the spotlight in America with what was actually their fourth EP, and later their first ever full-length album, ‘Night Visions’. While “It’s Time” is still my resounding favorite, I really do encourage you to check out All Eyes. This song, seemingly about making choices, is one of the most powerful you’ll hear in a while — and alot of what is powerful of it comes from the mystery of the lyrics. This isn’t on iTunes though, so you’ll have to grab yourself an Mp3.

6. Castle of Glass, Linkin Park

What amuses me about Linkin Park is that the only song they are famous for, “Burn It Down”, is one of the few songs of theirs that are extremely fast. Sure, there are others, especially on their most recent album, but Castle of Glass is one of their slower ones, but also their better. From the song title, you may assume this is about someone who is easily shattered. But no, the song is speaking to the listener. Cause you’re only a crack/in this castle of glass. Take a listen, it’s a good song. Yes, it does seem sort of post-apocalyptic. That’s simply their style.

5. You Need Me, I Don’t Need You, Ed Sheeran

Ed Sheeran, for me, was exactly like Dispatch. I was introduced to him by a friend of mine, and thought he was dreadfully awful the first time I heard him. However, after returning to the song some five times, I finally purchased it and have gone on to buy most of the songs on his first ever full-length album, “+”. In an interview, Ed stated in represented his views on his relationship with his management and the music business when he was first starting out, but I think all of us can relate to this song in the way that we all have that one person in our lives who we don’t even like but find ridiculously dependent on us. Yeah, you’re not alone. And the music video is something else.

4. It’s Time, Imagine Dragons

I have to say I am a bit biased towards this song, as it is one of my favorite songs. However, I think there is a very powerful message in this song. I guess it’s as simple as this: you have dreams? Good. So does everyone else. The difference is most people want things to happen, and they sit around and hope for it. But you could actually make them happen. So go make them happen. It’s Time, folks.

3. Viva la Vida, Coldplay

When you think of bands whose lyrics really carry a lot of weight, Coldplay may be one of the first things that comes to your mind with tracks like “Fix You” and “The Scientist”. However, Viva la Vida is my favorite of them all. My school choir sang this some three years back — it was actually what introduced me to Coldplay in the first place. This song isn’t a mystery to unravel, it’s about a man who lost it all. So whether we’re just wallowing in self-guilt or wanting to know what failure feels like, Viva la Vida is a great track.

2. Good Riddance (Time Of Your Life), Green Day

Green Day was a band who I listened to all the time about a year ago, but who has began to lose its overall appeal to me. Although this track really never has. One of their older tracks, Good Riddance is a great song about enjoying what we have and making the best of it. The line it’s something unpredictable / but in the end it’s right brings to mind the notion of living life in the present, that in the end, it’ll just be more enjoyable overall.

1. Drunk, Ed Sheeran

Drunk is one of my all-time favorite tracks, also by Ed Sheeran. It’s music video is beyond all others, but that all can make the lyrics easily lost. Don’t forget them, though. The song is, obviously, about someone drinking away the pain of a breakup. What I take away from is that whether we do that — or have some other way of ‘covering up’ our pain — that it’s stupid to try to do that, that the sooner we confront our problems, the sooner they will be resolved.

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

So, what do you think? Let us know in the comments!

๖̶̶̶ۣۜмaтт

-Has a cool job at Musically Appetizin’-

One thought on “Offhand: Ten Tracks To Make You Think

Leave a Reply

